Clocks, Cogs, and Mechanisms 1st Check-in

Welcome to the first time I have actually managed to get a check-in published for my reading challenges! Hurray!!

 
Let me start this post with a little confession, I have yet to finish my first Steampunk read of the year. I had planned to start my year with a pile of reading, and several posts on this blog. What happened instead was a series of events that kept me so busy I have not even completed my first challenge read, or any book for that matter. I could be discouraged by how chaotic things have been, but I choose instead to be optimistic. I have half a month left and I plan to dig into some reading over the course of it. This weekend looks to be a good opportunity with its dark clouds already gathering and a forecast of rain that will last till Tuesday.

I want to encourage anybody else who is struggling to get started on their reading, or even struggling with their New Years resolutions to not give up because of a bad beginning. Improving yourself does not have to start with a new year and making mistakes is part of the process. Good habits are not formed in a day, they take time, effort, and a lot of trial and error. In particular signing up for a reading challenge like mine that lasts all year, it is really easy to try to front load it and pack all of your reading in as early as possible. Not only does it make it harder to accomplish your goals, but it is really easy to burn out. For anyone who is doing a challenge with a monthly theme, it is okay if you miss a month. You can always make up for it the following month, or just try your best to do the rest of them.

I know all of that is a little off the topic of steampunk, but it is really easy to be on the outside looking in and thinking someone you follow on social media has it all together. I wanted to let you know that sometimes things don’t go as planned, or even close to it. Please do not compare how your reading is going with how someone else is doing. I am the host for this challenge and am only partly through my first book, on the other hand my mom has already finished more than one steampunk book. I refuse to feel bad because she is doing good, remember the reading community should be supportive through the ups and downs.

With all of that said, thank you for participating in my reading challenge. If you have read and reviewed a book, please feel free to share a link in the comments below. If you just want to share what you’ve read, I would love to know what you are reading in the comments. For anyone like me who has had a little bit of a rough start, know you are not alone. I would love for you to comment if you need a little encouragement or even just want say what you plan to read.

Thank you again for joining my challenge and reading this rambling post.

Happy Reading,
R.A. Vucci

One thought on “Clocks, Cogs, and Mechanisms 1st Check-in

Leave a Reply

